TAIPEI 101

The Taiwan's tower, Taipei101 was the highest skyscraper for 2004 to 2010 and earned its name according to the number of it's floors. You may use her once lost, to find your way in the city, and this, days and night.
She is lightened every night with a different color, and it happens that it's top is compared to Sauron's eye because of the color and brightness of it's very top. It's a place that I encourage you to visit in the late afternoon to enjoy the landscape not only during the day but also at night.

NIGHT MARKET

In Taipei, you will find a lot of "Night markets". You will find there all the generation of Taiwaneses sharing a meal in the hot street of the capital. You will find there tons of people selling all kind of things but mainly food. I advice you to try there all the kinds of local juice they offer, the fruits (try Durian! ) but also the very famous "stinky tofu" that is trendy in Taiwan. Almost all the food is cooked in front of you and as it's the tradition in Asia, when it's not a soup, they will more likely fry your food. It's time to forget your diet efforts, it's so good !

DRAGON BOAT FESTIVAL

The Dragon Boat Festival is one of the most awaited Chinese event that take place ones a year. It comes directly from a very old tradition that belongs to Chinese history. Once upon a time, there was a loved and very good king adviser. He was devoted and had great honor working in his position, the day he lost the trust of the king, he committed suicide drawing in the river. To save it's body, the locals threw rice in the river to feed the fishes that, instead of eating the body, would rather eat the rice. The objectif was to find the body the fastest possible. This tradition stayed, in this time of the year, there are around China and Taiwan Dragon Boat competition. This tradition also affect the food being eaten during the event. This food is called "Zongzi" (and I Really like it!). It's the best sticky rice based recipe to take away !

MEMORIAL PARK

Taiwan in quest to preserve it's past, and keep distinctive from China. Builded a good amount of parc that are called "Memorial Parc" that have each an unique name of important people that changed history. We find there beautiful green places, pond, fishes, tortules, bonsaï, museums and traditional Chinese structures such as arcs and temples ! This places are very calm and great to hang out, read books or simply discourir the Taiwanese history ! It strongly advice drinking bubble tea after this quest

SPORT

While in some other Asian countries you may have to struggle finding sport facilities. Taiwan have a good culture to practice sports, you will meet your needs. The most populars are the Badminton, Hip-Hop, Basketball, Baseball and the Soccer. You will find as well climbing walls ! You can find really good spot in Taiwan, indoor as well as outdoor and the one I love the most is near by the sea: Lóngdòng. (龍洞) It is a great place not only because of it's size, and the number of the paths you can climb on, but as well for the landscape it offers and the sea that is just waiting you to got inside and take a swim. Do not forget your clothes and your solar creme because long exposure to the sun will give serious damages to your skin. I discovered it by my expense.

DANCE

It's amazing how the HIP-HOP spread in Taiwan. It's even more obvious when you see the TV advertisements that promote speakers specialized in this street activity. I have seen nowhere else in the world ! In Taipei, you can find tons of dance school practicing in all the free places in the capital. We can mention the Memorial-Parcs, places protected by the rain such as the temples or even under bridges. Nothing can stop them to share and improve their skills. This now does belong to the street-art culture in Taiwan ! I have seen some of their show and i can tell you that it's very impressive ! Great organisation, choreography, scenery and disguises with thema, as well as the amazing number of club that are practising, it's crazy !

CHINOIS

The Chinese traditional characters are a part of the language imposed in Taiwan. As China changed from traditional to simplified, there is only 3 that are still using this way of writing : Taiwan, Hong-Kong and Macao. These characters are similars to the other but have more strokes, that makes them more complicated, but it doesn't worry foreigner to learn them. With motivation and time you can reach any objectif, besides, you will be the proud ones that are able to read and write with this ancestral symboles that even Chinese people, may not even know ! Furthermore, you will be able to understand the simplified characters easily. This being said you will need to spend two good years to get a good level. But do not worry, Taiwan have very good language center integrated at the university where you will learn Mandarin with a group of 10 people essentially the Japoneses.

BUBBLE TEA

The Bubble Tea ! Oh, again something that i discovered there ! In fact, Taiwan, just like in most part of modern Asia, have tons of little boissons shop EVERYWHERE. These people are not pretending to like the food, it's a religion ! You won't walk in a street without finding someone telling you what this or that shop is (very) famous for. The reason why I like so mich the bubble tea are the "black bubbles" that you will find inside floating slightly and somehow warmer than the cold drink. This bubble are nothing more that flour, don't ask me with it's black. It's to consomate with moderation, but you will hardly resist it, half Taiwaneses are addicted to it !

POLLUTION

Taipei, is an example for many asian cities if you focus in the transports and the relationship with the trash. For the transport, the city not only invested in the very efficient Japanese Mass Rural Transport, but it also allow the cyclist to take over the center of the city when they installed free rental of bikes. That makes Taiwan one of the Asian capital that aren't that subject to traffic jam. In Taiwan there is also a great way to deal with the trash, every thursday in the early morning, a truck going though all the street and it's the citizen themself that are filling the truck bin. It's not only adding some neighbor dynamism but it educate and implicate the population in the recycling process !

RELATION FOREIGNERS

Like in many countries the foreigners or expats have a special place in the society. a place filled by historic bias. This place change according to the country you visit and the intellect of the people you are visiting. Taiwan is no exeption, and as this country attract more expats than immigrants ( seen the difference ?), this country still see the white foreigner as rich american that is here to profit of the country. He will be very welcomed by the girls and welcome in many event for it's relative exotism, as well as invited to leave the country as he can be seen as a parasite. Some foreigner that i have met there doesn't help it(...), disrespectful and willing to take profit of the situation as possible. They can't help it, in social media, some people are very happy to trash the image of foreigners.
Let's not make any generality, if you are a good humain being, respectful and willing to learn, you will be able to enjoy their hospitality, kindness and open-mind. They will be very happy to help you discover their culture.

OVERALL IMPRESSION

Taipei is what you can expect from a modern capital city in Asia. Tjis city still have some deep traditional roots but for it's capital title, it is also a city open for the world. Traditional because you can still find there are still nowadays tribes that lives near by the mountains, because of the food and the Chinese characters, But also international because it get international investment, influence, import/export. Do not forget it's other name as the Chinese tiger ! The fact that it's a small island, reduce its air pollution, makes the sea closer as well as the mountain.
In Taipei, the bike and the MRT are everywhere in the city center, efficient fast and cheap !
In Taiwan, the whole body of the fish is cooked and you need to eat it with chopsticks
Durian is the king of the fruits, that title is shared with Mango in some part of Asia
You shouldn't take pictures in cemeteries, you may disturb and take a gost in picture !
There are two types of Tofu, the normal and the stinky one. Have you tried ? You can smell it from far away !
The umbrellas are here to protect you from the sun !
While in Occidental countries you may buy cream to make your skin darker, in Asia the cream they buy makes your skin whiter.
Taiwanese aren't Chinese, do not tell them the contrary.
Mangos are SO TASTY there.
In Taiwan buildings there is not floor number 4 because it share the name prononciation as the word "die".
When you use chopsticks you should not turn your hands so your thumb is facing the floor. It gives bad luck.
The Chinese burn paper money, plastic cars, clothes or food in order to send their ancestor this money or items for them to use in the other world.
When a girl get married, she does not belong anymore to her mother family but to her husband's one.

TAIPEI 101

La tour de Taiwan, Taipei101 pour son nombre d'étages, surplombe toute la ville et est de ce fait incontournable. Elle vous servira certainement comme point de repère quand vous marcherez en ville, et ce, de jour comme de nuit.
Elle porte chaque nuits des couleurs différentes et il arrive qu'on la compare à l'oeil de Sauron à cause du sommet qui brille couleur flamme. C'est un lieu que j'encourage vivement à visiter à la tombée de la nuit pour profiter des deux types de panorama qu'elle propose.

NIGHT MARKET

A Taipei, vous trouverez la nuit des "Night market". Comme son nom l'indique, il s'agit de marchés de nuit dans lesquels se retrouvent toutes les tranches d'âge de la population autour d'un repas. Vous y trouverez une rue bondée de monde avec sur chaques trottoirs des personnes vendants toutes sortes de choses, et principalement de la nourriture. Je recommande fortement d'aller pour gouter les jus locaux, les fruits ( tentez le Durian! ) mais aussi le très célèbre "stinky tofu" très apprécié par les Taiwanais. La plupart des plats sont cuis et cuisinés devant vous et comme les Asiatiques adorent cela, la plupart des plats sont fris et assez gras, mais c'est tellement bon ! J'en garde toujours un très bon souvenir, et l'ambiance traditionnelle Asiatique est assurée !

DRAGON BOAT FESTIVAL

Le Dragon Boat Festival est l'un des évènements incontournable des chinois avec le nouvel an Chinois. C'est un festival qui vient d'une très vieille tradition qui appartient à l'histoire de la Chine. Un jour, un très bon conseillé du roi a mis fin à ses jours en se jettant dans la rivière. Pour le sauver, les habitants ont jetés du riz dans les rivières pour nourrir les poissons afin qu'ils ne mangent pas son corps, et pendant ce temps parcourraient les rivières en bateau pour le retrouver. Cette tradition est restée, et durant cette période en plus des courses de bateau en forme de dragon, on y mange aussi de la nourriture ( que j'adore! ), que l'ont appelle "Zongzi". Idéal dans casse croute à base de riz !!

MEMORIAL PARK

Taiwan en quête préservation de son passé, a construit à Taipei bon nombre de parc qu'on appelle des "Memorial Parc" qui portent chacun leur propre nom. Ces parcs en plus de leur devoir de mémoire, sont là pour honorer ces personnalités importantes du passé. On y trouve de la verdure, des étangs, poissons, tortues, bonsaï, musées et structures chinoises traditionnelles comme des temples et arches ! Ce sont de bon endroits calmes pour se balader, se poser lire un livre ou tout simplement découvrir un peu plus sur la culture Taiwanaise ! C'est aussi un des endroits où je vous recommande d'aller avec un jus de Bubble Tea bien frais !

SPORT

A Taiwan, il y a, contrairement à d'autres région d'Asie, un bon nombre d'installations pour pratiquer du sport. Les plus populaires sont le Badminton, le Hip-Hop, le Basket, le Baseball et le Soccer. Mais on y trouve aussi de l'escalade ! On trouve à Taiwan pas mal de spot vraiment sympa pour escalader indoor comme outdoor et celui que j'ai particulièrement aimé se trouve au bord de la mer: Lóngdòng. (龍洞) Il est génial non seulement pour sa taille et le nombre de voies que l'on peut y faire, mais aussi pour le paysage et la Mer juste a coté pour se jeter dedans ! N'oubliez pas vos T-shirt et la crème solaire, parce qu'une exposition prolongée au soleil là bas peut vraiment vous donner un coup de soleil sevère, c'est l'expérience qui parle.

DANCE

C'est très impressionnant la manière dont le HIP-HOP s'est répandue à Taiwan. On voit de la publicité à la télé qui promouvoient des chaines HIFI spécialisées pour cette pratique dans la rue. A Taipei, on voit des écoles de danse un peu partout et surtout une majorité de jeunes le soir qui sortent dans les parcs et à l'abri des temples pour se retrouver et s'initier/perfectionner dans cette danse urbaine. Si bien que cette danse appartient à la culture des jeunes de cette capitale ! Pour avoir assisté à certains de leur show, je peux vous dire que c'est très impressionnant : il y a une sacré organisation avec la chorégraphie à theme, le décor et les déguisements complexe ainsi que la quantité de club qui y participent, c'est fou !

CHINOIS

Les charactères Chinois traditionnels font partie de la langue imposée à Taiwan. La Chine étant passée du coté des charactères simplifiés, il ne reste que 3 pays qui utilisent encore ces symbole : Taiwan, Hong-Kong et Macao. Ces charactères sont constitués de plus de traits, ce qui les rend plus compliqués, mais cela ne devrait pas effrayer les occidentaux à les apprendre. En effet avec de la motivation on arrive à tout, et la fiereté de savoir lire et écrire les charactères ancestraux est bien plus valorisant que savoir simplement les caractères que tous les chinois connaissent déjà ! En plus de ça, vous saurez aussi lire les caractères simplifiés comme ils sont "semblable" on peut facilement deviner leur signification dans le contexte. En plus de ça, Taiwan propose de très bon centre de langues intégrés aux écoles où vous pourrez apprendre la langue de manière quotidienne dans des groupes de personnes jeunes ou moins jeunes composés principalement de Japonnais.

BUBBLE TEA

Le Bubble Tea ! Ah encore quelque chose que j'ai découvert là bas ! En fait à Taiwan comme dans toute l'Asie en général, il y a des petits magasins de nourritures et boissons PARTOUT. Il y a une veritable culture de la nourriture la bas. Dans les temps chaud de l'été, il n'y a rien de tel que de commander après une bonne scéance d'escalade, une bonne quantité de boisson fraiche, fruité et sucrée ! Le dernier ingrédient magique qu'ils ajoutent ce sont les "bubbles" noir qui flottent légèrement dans votre verre. En fait ce n'est rien de plus que des boulettes de farine de riz ( et ne me demandez pas pourquoi la couleur est noire ) C'est à consommer avec modération, autant à cause du sucre qu'à cause des "bubbles" mais on y resiste que difficilement, la moitié des Taiwannais y est addictés !

POLLUTION

Taipei, est un modèle pour bien des villes asiatiques vi à vis de sa manière à gerer le transport de ces habitants. Non seulement cette ville a investis dans un système de transport en commun très efficace, le MRT, mais elle a aussi permis aux cyclistes de prendre des vélos disposés à des bornes, de manière gratuite tant qu'on le temps de leur usage ne dépasse pas les 30min. Il suffit pour ne pas payer de le déposer dans une autre borne. Et ça permet le transport très facile de la population au centre ville qui, contrairement à beaucoup de villes asiatiques. N'a que très peu de bouchons. A Taiwan se trouve aussi un système à taille humaine pour les déchets, tous les jeudi matin très tôt, un camion passe pour les récuperer. Et ce n'est pas les "eboueurs" qui prennent les sachets, mais plutôt tout les habitants qui se déplacent dans la rue pour y déposer les déchets. Non seulement ça ajoute une dynamique rurale, mais ça éduque la population en les implicant directement au processus de recyclage !

RELATION FOREIGNERS

Comme dans tous les pays les étrangers ont une place particulière dans la société, une place pleine de préjugés historiques. Celle-ci change en fonction de la classe sociale dont on fait partie et dans quelle sorte de pays on se trouve. Taiwan ne fait pas exeption, et étant un pays qui attire plus d'expatriés que d'immigrants ( vous sentez la nuance ?), ce pays contient une partie de personne qui voient encore les étrangers "blanc" comme les riches américains qui vient investir et "profiter" des Taiwanais. Il sera donc, très prisé par les filles et le bienvenue dans toutes sortes d'évènements pour son exotisme ( relatif ), aussi bien qu'invité à rentrer chez lui comme concidéré comme un profiteur malveillant. Il est vrai que certains jeunes d'angleterre que j'y ai croisé m'ont fait honte(...), irrespecteux et profiteur au possible. Ils alimentent allègrement les journaux locaux qui portent un attrait tout particulier pour les étrangers. Mais heureusement que ce n'est pas une généralité. Les expatriés, souvent plus éduqués et respectueux que leurs pairs, peuvent jouir de l'hospitalité et de la gentiesse des Taiwanais pour qui les valeurs de la vie sont le bonheur et le partage, et feront tout pour vous aider à découvrir leur culture.

OVERALL IMPRESSION

Taipei est ce que l'on peut attendre d'une ville du monde asiatique. Celle-ci porte encore des racines traditionnelles profondes tout en s'ouvrant vers une culture internationale. Traditionnelle de part l'existance encore aujourd'hui de tribues qui vivent près des montagnes, de la nourriture et des caractères chinois traditionnels. Mais internationle aussi avec sa dépendance au même titre que le japon des investissements étrangers, de l'import/export ainsi que sa place dans le monde, n'oublions pas que Taiwan est le tigre chinois ! On y trouve un aspect bien plus charmant que les grandes villes de Chine grace à la mer, aux montagnes et une relative moindre pollution. Et les personnes qui y vivent sont amicales et pleines de bonnes intentions. Information diverses : Se nourrir en prennnant de la nourriture avec le poignet et les baguettes retournées ça porte malheur. Les mots avec la prononciation "sih" sont à éviter dès que possible comme sa prononciation signifie "mort". Il faudra donc eviter les chiffres avec un 4 dedans, il n'y a pas d'étage 4 en chine. Il faudra aussi ne pas offrir des cadeaux en nombre de 4 etc.. Ne pas offrir de montre non plus, ça implique que tu souhaites la mort de la personne. Les chinois brulent des choses comme du papier argent, des habits et des voitures jouets pour que leurs ancètres puissent les utiliser dans l'autre monde. Quand une fille se marie, elle n'appartient plus à sa famille, mais a la famille de son mari.
A Taipei, le vélo et le MRT sont présent dans toute la ville, très efficace, rapide et pas cher !
A Taiwan, on présente le poisson entier à table, et on le dépèce avec les baguettes !
Le Durian est le dieu des fruits en Asie, titre aussi partagé par les mangues dans certaines régions
Il ne faut pas photographier les cimetières, on risque de prendre des fantomes en photo !
Il y a deux types de tofu, le normal et le "stincky tofu" ! Avez vous tenté l'expérience ? On le sent de loin !
Les parapluies servent à se protéger du soleil !
Alors qu'en France, on achète de la crème pour bronzer, là bas, on en achète pour s'éclaircir la peau.
Les Taiwanais se considèrent un pays indépendant du géant chinois, ne leur dites pas qu'ils sont chinois!
Les mangues à Taiwan en été son excises !
Dans les immeubles à Taiwan, il n'y a pas le chiffre de certains étages comme le 4. Car ça a la même prononciation que mort en chinois.