TOURISM

Thailand is a country that get a important part of its GPD in the tourism. You will find there, installation for visitors such as the bus transports, flight, accommodation, rent of motorbike, kayak, snorkeling stuff, restaurant.. You will definitely find all you need nearby. The authority have even been used to not check if the foreigner have their driving licence with them, and if they don't, that would be to make some pocket money. Personally I advice you to avoid Bangkok and go directly to the most remote places with your rented motorbike. You don't want to see the ugly mass tourism sex traffic but more like the traditional peaceful and colorful part of this country that didn't get ravaged by tourism.

AVENTURE

Thailand will offer you all kinds of activities in very competitive prices compared to the rest of the world. I have particulary appreciated the open water certificate in Koh Tao, my first sceance of kite-surf in Koh-phangan, the trekking in Chang Mai, the nights with open skies, the visit of traditional villages, the bamboo rafting and the elephants in Chang Mai. Without speaking about the uncountable scooter trip to visit around all the places I have been. This being said, there are things to take care of, for example, how they treat their elephants, the drugs they give to the tigers to hug and the manner they respect local population. All national parc are quite expensive, the policies will not like to see you coming with a tent..

ACTIVITES

Beside all the physical activities that i mentioned before, there are still some peaceful things to do, such as the visit of the temple all around Thailand, the beautiful landscapes, the traditional markets, the massages you can get. There are also many kind of show that you can assist such as fire jungling, traditional dances and songs without forget the very famous "ping pong show" that you can watch around some delicious Thai food. If you are located in the most tourist area in Thailand, yes i talk about Pukhet, you will find the main street filled with "girls" and alcohol that will try to consome your wallet.

RELATIONSHIP PAUVERTY

If i should compare Indonesia and Thailand, I would say that Thailand is much more open for tourism and I would add that it's a old tourism country : Many people speak basic english and you will be understood in some very remote places there. I didn't get any problem communicating with the people, and I haven't see more poverty there than in other places in the world. I haven't seen many begers in the street and i always felt very safe ( even in the roads ). The people are cheerful, friendly and respectful. The perfect combinaison to attract tourism. Unfortunately I didn't get the chance to make a real Thai friend, that's probably because changed place very frequently.

FOOD

Oh the taste of the food from Thailand will always remain in my memory as the tastiest and heathiest of all. I miss it already. The fruits, the meat, the vegetables and the juices.. are just exellent and very cheap ! I would come back there just for the food ! There is a lot of mix of rice/pasta with fruits in the recipe you will find. And it's not spicy ! You won't even need to worry about the quality of the food there, I always recieved good food quality !
PADI Massage
In the Chang Mai there are still ogres,they will probably eat you if you walk out of the trekking path.
The Buses always start their path in the good time, but the time to arrive in not so sure.
The animals lives free outside in some places, that give them the best quality ever.
Usually 3$ were enough for me to eat well garnished food with drinks.
In Thailand at least, fruits and vegetables have a real good taste !
The Tiger Balm can be used to get rid of the mosquitos

TOURISM

La Thailand est un pays touristique qui n'a plus à faire ses preuves. On y trouve partout des installations pour les visiteurs. Que ça soit locations en tous genres ( kayak, scooter, voiture, conducteur, bateau.. ), mais aussi logement, transport et restaurant vous trouverez tout ce dont vous aurez besoin à proximité. Les autorités ont même pris l'habitude de ne pas verifier la présence des différents permis de conduire aux étrangers, le permis étant souvent dernier étant souvent inexistant. Cela dit, c'est aussi un grand pays, et des différences énormes en fonction de l'endroit où vous vous trouvez. Personnellement je vous conseillerais d'éviter Bangkok et d'aller dans des endroits plus reculés dans les montagnes au nord, comme sur les iles paradisiaques au sud.

AVENTURE

La Thailande vous offrira toutes sortes d'activités à des prix très compétitif comparé au reste du monde. J'ai particulièrement appreçier le certificat de "open water" à Koh Tao, ma première scéance de kite surfing à Koh phangan, le trekking, la nuit à la belle étoile, la visite de villages traditionnels, le bamboo rafting et les éléphants à Chang Mai, sans parler des innombrables tours en scooter pour visiter les alentours des divers destinations où je suis allé ! Il y a cependant certaines choses dont il vous faudra être regardant, par exemple la manière dont ils traitent les éléphants, les drogues qu'ils donnent aux tigres pour que vous puissiez les carresser et le respect de la population locale. Le prix des parc naturel est plus élevé, et les policiers n'aimeront pas vous voir venir avec une tente pour faire votre propre trip mais pour ce que j'ai entendu, ça se fait !

ACTIVITES

En plus des activités sportives çités ci-dessus, il existe toutes sortes d'activités plus tranquilles qui plairont aux moins sportifs comme la visite des Temples, des paysages et plages magnifiques à visiter, mais aussi des grand marchés de bangkok, des tours en bateau et je ne parle pas des massages exquis qui vous seront proposés un peu partout. Il y a aussi toutes sortes de show auxquels vous pourrez assister, que ça soit du jonglage enflamé, des danses et chants traditionnels ou les très célèbres performances "ping pong show" que vous pourrez assister autour de la très délicieuse nourriture Thailandaise. Si vous souhaitez être tout à fait posé, à Pukhet se trouve des rues remplient de bar, de filles et d'alcool qui vous tenteront de consumer votre porte feuille.

RELATIONSHIP PAUVERTY

Comparé à l'indonésie, la thailande est un pays bien mieux organisé et ouvert aux touristes. De ce fait, ça en fait un pays bien plus international où l'anglais est bien mieux parlé. Je n'ai eu aucun problème de communication avec qui que ce soit. On n'y remarque pas vraiment la pauvreté, je n'ai pas croisé de mendiants. Je me suis vraiment senti bien entouré et en securité durant tout le long, les personnes sont chaleureuses, souriantes et très respectueuses. La parfaite combinaison pour plaire aux touristes, je n'ai pas eu la chance de me faire de vrais amis Thailandais comme je voyageais beaucoup.

FOOD

Ah la nourriture Thailandaise me manque déjà. Les fruits, légumes, viandes et jus qu'on y déguste sont vraiment exellent et bon prix. J'y retournerais rien que pour en faire un voyage culinaire. Il y a beaucoups de mélanges riz/pâtes avec des fruits dans les plats que vous trouverez. Et contrairement à ce que vous pouvez imaginer ce n'est souvent pas épicé ! Vous y mangerez pour quelques euros un peu partout sans avoir besoin de vous inquiéter de la qualité de la nourriture !
Il y a encore des ogres dans les montagnes de Chang Mai, ils nous mangent si on se perd lors du trekking.
Les BUS partent toujours à l'heure, mais l'heure d'arrivée est incertaine.
En Indonésie, les poules vivent et grandissent normalement en pleine air.
Généralement, je mangeais pour 3€ par repas très bien garnis.
En Thailande au moins, les fruits et légumes ont un vrai goût. On le sent de loin !
La baume du tigre soulage très bien les piqures de moustiques !